Happy Birthday Judy!

Today is my mother-in-law’s birthday. She’s on the other side of the world right now though so she’s kinda hard to reach.
I decided to use this week’s Bellariffic Challenge design for her birthday card. This sketch is created by Meahni again. I really liked this layout and found it fun and creative.

meahnisketch

I pretty much followed it to a T, other then the rounded upper right corner. Not very creative of me, now is it!

MIL09

However, I did try to get a little creative with my colouring technique. I used the lessons learned this past Saturday in shading. I’m glad I’ve been using my Colourless Blender copic as just a week ago I was thinking, “why the hell did I buy this?” It came in handy with the hair and blending the browns together to create a softer look on the edges.
One thing I must practice at is choosing which 3 colours produce the matching colour for my card. It’s not perfect in this instance, but it doesn’t look out of place I think.
Here’s a close up shot of the colouring:

MIL09close

I popped out the cake and added sparkle to make it look extra yummy. Cause you know yummy cakes always have sparkles… or sparklers.

I think I’m happy with it… I’m just not sure if something’s missing. I didn’t want to go overboard as mother always says, “less is more”. Should I have added an embellishment the top right maybe?

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Michelle said,

    Hi, I now you have news to post so whats up, get to it girl. Tell everyone your great news!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

