I’m Late!

… with my Bella post from last Friday. Sorry mom.

What did I even do Friday? I tried to see Inglorious Basterds, but there was nooooo way I was sitting in the front row for a 3 hour movie. I ended up going again on Saturday instead. Awesome movie. Everybody actually clapped at the end of it. I didn’t just want to clap though, I wanted to punch somebody in the FACE! That’s how revved up Tarantino films make me. Ok just this and Death Proof, but MAN! I really was pumped after that was over.

Last Friday’s Bellariffic Challenge was presented by Meahnibella. Wonderful artist. Here’s her sketch:

meahnipietersesketch1

I had a bit o’ trouble with this one, but here’s what I came up with:

Bella1021

And it wasn’t until after I was finished that I thought I’d seen this before… it’s just like my card I made for my sister Katie’s birthday only 2 weeks before! That was a bellariffic challenge too. The only difference really was the embellishment required for the top left. But I made it even worse by using the same exact paper combos! Ah well… I’ll just remember not to give that to Katie.

On Saturday and Sunday was the special guest teachers Lindabella and Paulabella at Stamping Bella. BELLA BELLA BELLA! I say it with Brad Pitt’s Italian accent from Inglorious Basterds. Exquisite.
Anyway, I had a great time and learned a lot. We had 3 images to colour with our copics on Saturday but only got to 2 out of the 3. It takes time to learn the art! I was taught some great techniques on how to shade an image using 3 or more copics. It takes a long time to really achieve a nice effect, but if you have the patience, why not. And if you have a wide range of markers too.
Anyway, here’s what I accomplished in 2 hours:

LindaClass

Cute eh? I love the turtle the best. She had a great technique where you use your colourless blender on the turtles belly to remove a dot and then using your darkest shade you make a C shape underneath to pop it out. I like the colour combination she chose for her shading underneath as well.

Now I hope to start on this weeks Bellariffic Challenge. It’s an interesting layout so I’m looking forward to it. We’ll see how much patience I have to colour. It’s Robbie’s mom’s birthday tomorrow so I shall make this one for her!

Talk to ya later!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Nadia said,

    Ohhh!!! I like the little girl bug!! She’s so cute!! And the colors too!
    You are right about the little buttons on the turtle’s belly
    You know, if you are not too sure about how to make the shadow, just take an object on your table, put a light on a side of it and observe the shade…then move the light around the object to see where the shadow moves on the object.
    Then you put the character on you card, put an imaginary light beside or whatever, and you create its shadow. (thats how I learned the shadow techniques, only with lots of drawing and practice in class)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

