Blockage Released…

I did it! Aren’t you proud of me? … no? Well… can you at least feel a little happiness for me? Thank you.

Thankfully my friend Barb forgot her mother’s birthday today. So, she needed a card. And I had just the one in the works!

CharlotteKetto

I think having a sentiment for the card made it a little easier for me. I just felt the half circle was going to be so empty and just there for nothing. I ended up using what I had done last night actually. It’s really two experiements in one. First I cut the scallop circle and then I used my Versamark ink on a flourish stamp to ink around the circle. I didn’t like it. Still too boring. Then I used my cuttlebug flourishes to pop it up a bit. Still… mehh… it’s ok. But I think now that the half circle with “happy birthday” was added it made that more of a focal point and adding the purple bella dots made it a little dressier too. Getting the OK from Robbie also made it better.

I love the paper in the background. It’s called “Zinnia Bloom” from Little Yellow Bicycle. The cute stamp is Charlotte Ketto. She reminds me of a European girl from a little village. I paper pieced the orange part of her skirt from the same paper but opposite side. I actually had to stamp and colour her twice because while I was trying to figure out the circle design I had stamped something in red… and the red got on my finger… and then the red was under her dress… and that didn’t look too flattering on her.

So I will submit this card for this Friday’s Bella Challenge. Now I’ve got a masculine card to make for John. Beerafella it is. Hope to post it tomorrow (since that’s when his birthday is).

Hope everyone enjoys their day off and have a Happy Canada Day!!! in the rain.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Cindy said,

    Love this “blooming” card Rebecca!!! The colours really pop on this…and I love Charlotte….she is adorable! I love her paper pieced skirt too!! Great card!!! Hope you had a great Canada Day….take good care.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

