Maisy Ketto

So last Thursday Stamping Bella released a bunch of new stamps. If you spent $75 or more you got a free steel water bottle with “ecobella” on it. Of course I had to have it. I was just in there that Tuesday so I wasn’t keen on spending more money that week when I’m trying to save for Vegas… but c’mon… I needed that water bottle. So during my lunch at work I put together a list of things I would end up buying eventually anyway so I thought I’d just buy it all now and get the free water bottle. PLUS… because it was Emily’s birthday this week she gave a 40% off coupon for one item. I tried to find something that would make it worth it but in the end I bought another nestablities (Labels 3) I’ve been wanting. I was going to go for the Big-Bite but I just wasn’t too enthusiastic about it. I bought a few more Ketto stamps plus two new stamps that were totally adorable. I’ll have them up soon I’m sure on a new card. I also bought a ton of new paper that I couldn’t resist. And this is my card using my favourite of the things I bought:

MaisyKetto09

Meet “Maisy Ketto”. Isn’t she freakin adorable?!! I have her on a mug I bought as well from the One-of-a-Kind show last year. I chose this paper because I wanted to keep with the flower theme. I also stamped my new Ketto flowers and cut them out for embellishment adding a bells dot in the center of the big ones and sparkles in the small ones. Another new stamp is the sentiment “if friends were flowers… I’d pick you!”. I love this card. I love her outfit and her orange hair. I kept with the stitching theme from the paper and paper pierced along the edge of my stamped paper and used a black pen to follow along the lines for some faux-stitching. I then added some brown iridescent chalk to take away that stark white and distress it a little since the paper is distressed some-what.
I love how the camera picked up the sparkles on her wings so well and made them glitter. Another thing I bought was an opaque white pen to add highlights to my stamps. You can notice it on her shoes. I have to learn more about shading and highlighting though before I get too crazy with it.

This is the first time I actually sketched my card out before I made it. Maybe it’s a new thing for me. This is another card that I will keep in stock as there’s no purpose for it yet. Right now it’s adding some colour and decoration to my shelf along with “Hello Friend”. I’m working on another card with a new Ketto stamp and hope to have it up tomorrow. She’s all coloured up and dazzling, I just need to pick a layout. Maybe when Monday’s Stamping Bella sketch is up it’ll suit it. If not I’ll use it for something else.

I’m having a lot of fun with this and I appreciate everybody stopping by to view my cards and read my blog. It makes me want to create more and more. And the more I create the happier I am. So thank you for putting a smile on my face!

And a special Thank you to my fiancé Robbie for setting up his server to host my picture files there! I was already running out of room on Flickr. And now they’re even bigger pictures so you can really see detail and mistakes! You’re gonna love it Aunt Cindy. Take care!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Robbie said,

    Ewe ‘r’ totally welcome! Totes m’gotes!

  2. 2

    Cindy said,

    Everything about this card is ADORABLE!!! Love the sparkles….her little outfit , the faux-stitching and the colours and kudos on the distressing and hi-lighting….I am really really impressed!!! Excellent once again!!! Keep ’em coming!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

